Historically all RCCIP activities have been held in-person.  With the pandemic we have developed systems to adapt the RCCIP process so it can be done in-person, virtually or a combination of both. Decisions will be made on a case-by-case basis by the core team lead and First Children’s Finance staff depending upon regulations and the current situation with the pandemic.

Our Work in



Active Projects

Renville County

Renville County is a rural community located in South-Central Minnesota, along the Minnesota River, roughly 90 minutes west of Minneapolis. The county’s population is approximately 15,730.

City of Warren, MN

Warren is in the Northwest corner of Minnesota, named for Charles H. Warren, a railroad official. With a population of 1,600 residents, agriculture continues to hold a predominate role in its local economy.

Winona County, MN

Winona County is located in Southeast Minnesota on the picturesque bluffs of the Mississippi River. The county has incorporated old-world charm with sophisticated restaurants and family activities.

Carlton County

Carlton County is located in North East Minnesota, south of Duluth and is one of the fastest growing counties in NE Minnesota- home to just over 35,000 people.

Meeker County

Meeker County is in West Central Minnesota with a total population of just over 23,000 and is home to some of the state's largest dairy and poultry operations as well.

Wadena County

Wadena County is located in central Minnesota and has a population of almost 14,000. The community prides itself on its educational systems including strong support for school district referendums and two Community and Technical Colleges located within the county.

2018 Projects

Becker County

Becker County is located in West Central Minnesota, and has a population of approximately 34,100 people. 


Surrounded by pristine lakes and deep forests, Bemidji is a friendly, family community
with a population of about 15,300. 


The City of Fairmont, located in south central Minnesota has a total population of 10,593. According to the labor market profile, the county is experiencing a rapid increase in industrial job creation. 


Please reload

Kandiyohi County

Kandiyohi County with a territory of 800 square miles, and a population of approximately 42,510 is located in west central Minnesota.

Koochiching County

Koochiching County is on the far Northern edge of Minnesota, sharing a border with Canada, with only about 13,000 residents county wide.  

Quad Cities

The rural communities located in St. Louis County and referred to as the Quad Cities, include Virginia, Eveleth, Gilbert, and Mountain Iron. The Quad Cities have a combined population of 19,350.  


Please reload

Past Projects


​Austin, MN is a rural community in Southeastern MN with a population of approximately 24,000. The city is home to numerous employers including a Fortune 500 company.

Clay County

Clay County is a county located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. As of the 2010 census, the population was 58,999. Its county seat is Moorhead

Itasca County

Itasca County is a county located in the State of Minnesota. As of the 2010 census, the population was 45,058. Its county seat is Grand Rapids.

Red Wing Area

The community of Red Wing is the seat of Goodhue County and has a population of about 16,000. It is located 50 miles SE of Minneapolis/St. Paul.

Roseau County

Roseau is a relatively small community with a population around 2,800. It is home to world-class manufacturing, research and development, medical facilities, and excellent public school district. 

Southwest Region

Our analysis of the Southwest Region included the following counties: Big Stone, Chippewa County, Lac Qui Parle, and Swift. 

Brainerd Lakes Area

Brainerd is a city in Crow Wing County, Minnesota, United States. Its population was 13,592 as of the 2010 census. It is the county seat of Crow Wing County, and is one of the largest cities in Central Minnesota.

Dawson- Boyd

Dawson, Minnesota is a progressive community located in Southwestern Minnesota with a population of 1,540. The city is a thriving town positioned on the Lac qui Parle River and U.S. Highway 212.

Northwest Area

Our analysis of the Northwest Region included the following counties: Marshall, Norman, Pennington, and Polk. 

Redwood County

Redwood County is a county located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. As of the 2010 census, the population was 16,059. Its county seat is Redwood Falls, located along the Redwood River near its confluence with the Minnesota River.

Sibley County

Sibley County is located in southcentral Minnesota. The population at the 2000 census was 15,356.

Stevens County

Stevens County is a county located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. As of the 2010 census, the population was 9,726.

©2020 Rural Child Care Innovation Program 

A program of First Children's Finance sponsored by Minnesota Department of Human Services