top of page

Osceola County 
Community Information

About Osceola County

Osceola County is in the West Central portion of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula and features the communities of Evart, Reed City, Hersey, LeRoy, Marion, and Tustin. This rural county is home to 23,105 residents.  According to the US Census Bureau, Osceola County has a total area of 573 square miles and  6.7 of that is water.  The land is predominately utilized for agriculture and open space which makes the perfect setting for hiking, biking, hunting, camping, and exploring. 

Due to the anticipated population growth the need for child care has increased. First Children’s Finance conducted a needs assessment in March 2023 and found that Osceola County had a shortfall of 592 slots.  The shortage of this magnitude impacts families, employers, and the overall economic development of Osceola County. Through the Rural Child Care Innovation Program, the community is working to address the current child care challenges and create innovative and sustainable solutions that increase the supply of high-quality child care.

bottom of page